ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How to use a microscope

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Spike Cover

Default How to use a microscope

All,

I'm new to Discus but not to fish. I've been a fish geek most of my life but have spent the past 20 years keeping Koi and learning (and teaching) about their health. From looking over the posts on this board, I see that the Discus hobby has many of the same problems that I've seen in Koi, e.g., people trying to treat sick fish w/o knowing what the problem really is. So in an effort to give back a bit for all the information I've found on this board, I thought I'd post a little about how to use a microscope. This is certainly not an exhaustive treatise but is more the essence of it. You'll need to substitute "Discus" for "Koi" and "tank water" for "pond water" in the blurb below, but other than that it should work. BTW this is something that I wrote for the K.O.I. Guide book (a quick reference guide) for Koi Organisation International.

You can just about spend any amount of money for a scope but in the neighborhood of $150 should get you something very decent. If you're a shopper, you can pick up something used for even less.

If you all find this helpful, I can post some info on various parasites, i.e., what they look like, how they move, etc. If this is "old news," I'll just go back to lurking .

Spike

Last edited by Second Hand Pat; 12-03-2015 at 09:26 AM. Reason: Fixed misspelling
    No matter how hard you try,
    You can't beat fun!

Silver Member
    Real Name
    Dan

Default Re: How to use a microscope

I have an old oil immersion scope that works fine but it would be nice to have one that takes pictures. It can be frustrating sometimes trying to decide which medication to use, and looking under a microscope can solve the mystery.