AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: February 2016 Member Spotlight - Mark Chen of Discus Origins

Default February 2016 Member Spotlight - Mark Chen of Discus Origins

It's a pleasure for me to present the February Spotlight on Mark Chen of Discus Origins, one of our Florida sponsors, and one of the best suppliers of wild discus to be found anywhere !

Q - Please tell us all a little about yourself, what makes you tick? What do you do for a living on a full time basis ? Any significant non-discus achievements you want to brag about?

A - My real job was actually a chiropractic physician, but I injured my wrist riding my motorcycle a few years ago and can no longer practice on a full time basis so I went back to medical school and currently just finished up my second year.

Since I graduated undergrad from the University of Florida and still live relatively close to Gainesville, I have to say that cheering for all kinds of Gator sports is a big passion for me and my family. We are season ticket holders for the Football program and enjoy going to all the home football games.

I guess the most current non-discus achievement I can think of is that after going through years of sports medicine training and treating athletes, I was invited to be a volunteer medical provider for the Summer 2016 Olympics in Rio. Now I have to figure out if I can actually take two weeks off school and my family to be working in Brazil. Its a once in a life time opportunity and I will try my best to make it work.

Q - How did you first get into discus? Where was the first discus you saw, and was it wild caught or farm-raised domestic? How long had you been into fish first ?