AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: 150 planted/driftwood

Default 150 planted/driftwood

Well I've posted some pics earlier elsewhere (http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showth...ank&highlight=) but wanted to start a thread here. I plan to keep plants but none that are in the substrate in order to cut down on trapped poo and crud. Still have a few tiger lilies and bronze crypts but the tiger lilies really don't collect crud so I'll keep a few. The crypts remaining are ones I didn't see when taking them out to give to my wife so I kept a few little tiny ones.

The intent of this thread is just to share the slow transition of my group of fish into a brown-based red-strain. I've have a few VR's but just added two BEAUTIFUL RR's from Eric (Carolina Discus). I've been harassing him for several years to get some sort of brown-based red-strain and I guess he had enough of me :P These are two shots taken very early on when putting them into the tank. I'll try to get some new ones today since they are more settled in. Honestly, these pictures SUCK... the fish don't. The male in this picture here doesn't show his normal shape and colors at all and the female looks small in the pic but she's anything but small. I'll work on it!

Looks to be a male and female and they are THICK. Love the soft cinnamon coat with a tinge of red hue that the male has. The female is absolutely beautiful with her blue halo and rich red body. Both have blue faces to add a perfect contrast. I plan to add more this year. Little by little. Most likely adult or near-adults. Might try raising a brood later this year from any pairs (in a separate tank).