ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello Hello From OH-IO!

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Jack

Red face Hello Hello From OH-IO!

Hi DISCUS PEOPLEEE,

My name is Jack, I'm 23 and obviously from Ohio, Mason to be exact.

I'm just starting out with this whole new Discus hobby!
    I've kept a bunch of other tropical fish for quite a while before but never Discus because I was a broke college student.
    BUT now I have a job and am making some money, I can finally dabble in the art of discus :P

I actually just bought 10 stendker fry (fire reds- not here yet) from a breeder so they should be pretty cool. xD and made a beef heart mix for food.
    So overall I have been reading a lot on how to keep discus from you guys and everywhere else, so I have a pretty good grasp, but any help/recommendations would be appreciated as I go along and get trapped deeper and deeper in this hobby, or more broke, whichever comes first haha...

Oh and I'm also starting into planted tanks and playing around with co2 tanks and building my own regulator and so forth. Kinda just blew out my burkert 6011 solenoid today so I'm wondering how exactly they are supposed to be wired and so forth. I did buy two because I thought my brother-in-law wanted one, so I can try again xD

Well, this was a very long introduction and I guess a summary of what I'm currently working on.

Hope you guys enjoyed a newbie starting out and am looking forward to learning more from you guys!

Best Regards,

Jack

p.s. - this was way too formal ...

Administrator and MVP Dec.2015 Second Hand Pat's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat

Default Re: Hello Hello From OH-IO!

Hi Jack and welcome the Simply . My first recommendation is to do more research. Al, the forum owner did a talk on discus keeping at this years ACA show and it was video taped. It is well worth the hour.