ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 180 Gallon 6x2x2 Planter tank gernal

Default 180 Gallon 6x2x2 Planter tank gernal

Over the last 2 months have been doing alot of reading and bough a Aquka One 180 Gallon 6x2x2 tank for a good price second hand on fathers day. Came with some really nice pieces of drift wood.
    I grew them out in a 5x2x1.5 and collected things over time. I got my discus about 2" and now want to have a crack at plants with discus. Some have done well others slower progress, im still learning about discus. My co2 stuff arrived last week and also a 4 channel dosing kit which i have had running for a few days, so far so good.
    Also got some Aussie black worms and fish are going nuts for them.

160G Discus Planter tank
    Various African Ciclid tanks

Real Name
    Mervin

Default Re: 180 Gallon 6x2x2 Planter tank gernal

IMO,added CO2 and ferts for that set up is not needed/will not work because of the water movement,the CO2 will gas off too quick to make a difference.Plus it isn't what I'd say was a high tech tank.All those bubbles will need to be shut off during the day and turned on again after the lights go out.

Real Name
    Ralph

I would totally agree with Mervin. Co2 needs to remain in tank while lights are on to be beneficial as plants will absorb it.
    During the night when lights are out the plants will give off Co2 and can be gassed off. A proper Co2 controller will be required for this unless you do it manually.

...Ralph
    "Success comes from knowing that you did your best to become the best that you are capable of becoming."
    -John Wooden

Quote Originally Posted by Altum Nut View Post
    I would totally agree with Mervin. Co2 needs to remain in tank while lights are on to be beneficial as plants will absorb it.
    During the night when lights are out the plants will give off Co2 and can be gassed off. A proper Co2 controller will be required for this unless you do it manually.