ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My Fishroom Project (Philadelphia / New Jersey area)

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Greg Biggiani

Default My Fishroom Project (Philadelphia / New Jersey area)

Hello all,

My name is Greg. I am located in the Philadelphia area in South Jersey. I graduated college this past May (2016) and currently still live in my parents house as I prepare for medical school. Back in August I decided, with permission, that I would move all of my discus tanks into our basement instead of keeping them all in my bedroom. Having consulted Wayne Leibel and Discus Hans for both plumbing design and structural design, we set out on our project.

Back in August I had (6) 55gals and (4) 20gals all on the upper level of our house in my bedroom. I wanted to make the transition for a variety of reasons. First, I wanted to streamline my water changing to cut down on time spent on doing them. Second, I was tired of spilling water all over carpet in my room. Third, keeping 86 degree F water in a small room made it basically unlivable due to the heat and humidity. Fourth, I have a passion for breeding and growing out discus so I wanted to try to put a full effort into a breeding setup. For those four reasons and a few more I embarked on designing and building a fishroom with my father who used to do a fair amount of plumbing work and other construction work.

It has been several months since we first started this project but I took pictures along the way. I will post pictures in chronological order and post some info about what was going on during the different phases of the project. We are nearly done and I feel confident enough to share with all of you what we have built this far, but the fishroom still has some work to be done at this date (11/26/16).

Please feel free to check out my fish instagram @ southjerseydiscus to see photos/videos of my fish, breeding, and tanks.