AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: Pigeon Blood Strains

Registered Member

Default Pigeon Blood Strains

Hello.

I am quite new to the wonderful world of discus. I bought a couple of 2" discuses that I hope to breed when they are older. I've been extensively researching the breeding process of discuses and have found that non-pigeon strains should not be mixed with pigeon strains otherwise peppering would occur.

The issue I am running into is that I am unaware of what the pigeon-blood strains are. Is it as simple as if they have stress bars they are non-pigeons, or is it more complicated than that.

My question is are "Super Red Discus" non-pigeon or pigeon? Same with "Golden Discus", would they non-pigeon or pigeon?

Many thanks!

Default Re: Pigeon Blood Strains

Quote Originally Posted by Braxton View Post
    Hello.

I am quite new to the wonderful world of discus. I bought a couple of 2" discuses that I hope to breed when they are older. I've been extensively researching the breeding process of discuses and have found that non-pigeon strains should not be mixed with pigeon strains otherwise peppering would occur.

The issue I am running into is that I am unaware of what the pigeon-blood strains are. Is it as simple as if they have stress bars they are non-pigeons, or is it more complicated than that.

My question is are "Super Red Discus" non-pigeon or pigeon? Same with "Golden Discus", would they non-pigeon or pigeon?

Many thanks!
    Good luck! There are so many strains and so many crosses it's tough to keep track of them all.

Here is a link that will hopefully help you some.

http://www.discusnada.org/discus-classification/

What I do know is there are many variations of the PB strain. You have pandas, checkerboard, maze, pearl, rafflesia, red eagle, etc. Another problem is breeders will give their fish a different name due to one specific trait that they focus on that may vary it slightly.