AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: New Tank Setup -Plz help!

Registered Member

Cool New Tank Setup -Plz help!

Hello. Greetings from Memphis, Tennessee. I'm just getting back into the aquarium hobby from about a decade away. I am new to Discus, but like a good challenge. Perhaps that is part of the enticement. I initially purchased a 125 gal long, but my wife and I both agreed that it did not really fit in our breakfast nook, so I purchased a used 75 gal. Standard 48 x 21 x 18. I would greatly appreciate any suggestions on bio-load, setup, plants, filtration, etc.,

I am planning an Amazonian fish bio-type, low-tech planted tank focusing on the Discus preferences, but will be cheating on the bio-type with the plants. I have decided to go with a BB tank and would prefer not to mess with CO2 so that greatly limits my plant choices. I might eventually try pool sand, but for now I figured I should give myself the best chance for success. Here is what I was thinking:

Hydor Professional 450 Canister Filter (pushes between 260-320gph)
    Emperor 400 Bio-Wheel
    2 Fluval E Series Heaters 300w (just ordered)
    Planning on keeping the tempature at 82 F.

Yesterday, i bought some plants from Dustins that should be arriving later this week. Picked up several types of Anubias, some Taxiphyllum Barieri and one Amazon Sword. The Anubias and Java fern I am planning on affixing to the Driftwood. The Amazon Sword is an experiment. I have an aquarium decoration log that I am planning on putting substrate in and then planting the Amazon Sword sticking out the top. The idea is to have a tank that looks as natural as possible, but is still easy to clean. Does anyone forsee any problems with this?