AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Breeding Newbie filtering options and tank size questions :)

Registered Member

Default Breeding Newbie filtering options and tank size questions :)

Hey guys,

As some of you know I am fairly new to Discus. I have recently purchased 7 Discus from a local very reputable discus importer form Malaysia. I got two couples (one confirmed breeding couple) and the rest ''singles'', all in the same tank (350 litres including sump) One of the couple as from the first day in the tank started laying eggs and it has gone already through three batches in just a few weeks and they dont seem to want to stop breeding. I have also tried to raise artificially a batch of 100 fry, however I wasnt well prepared and had an issue with the brine shrimp eggs which none of them hatched. The breeding pair are also stressing out the other fish to the point that some of the most shy sometimes start breathing from one gill. One of the ''single' discus has also started laying eggs in the same tank alone with no partner. I hope that this is a good sign that water parameters are good and the fish are happy apart form the stress being caused by the breeding couple who have become very territorial and aggressive at times.

In view of the above I am planning to move out of this tank and separate at least the breeding pair and possibly also the other pair to a DIY breeding tanks.

Now my plan was to breed the two couples and the question is this; I have been researching all around the internet and here on the forum and cannot get to a decision on what size and how much tanks I would practically need to breath 1 to 2 couples and also to raise their fry. Also what type of filtration should I go for, I have mixed feelings on if I should go for sponge filtering, sump or filtering or go for an internal sump inside the tank like a refugium? (dont know what its called in english exactly).