AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New fish possibly sick

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Mark Nealen

Default New fish possibly sick

Hi first Off I am new to owning Discus. So please bare with me.
    My concern
    I recently purchased 7 21/2" to 3" discus. One week ago from today. Purchase date 01/14/17. Two out of the 7 are not eating. They also hide in the back of the tank alone. I also have seen white fesses floating by as well. I have been unable to locate whitch fish has dropped them. Tonight I located one fish with the white fesses hanging from him. Also on one occasion I had seen two of them rub against my heater.

The tank.
    65 gallon set up two months prior to adding the Discus
    Planted with driftwood and large lava rocks.
    Eco complete black substrate
    Two Eheim pro 4 350 canister filters. One diy reverse flow under gravel filter. Second run conventional. One contains a carbon pad the other has searchem pergin in it. Both have prefilters sponges.
    One powerhead with sponge.
    One air stone.
    Two heaters.
    One Marieland led light.

Food
    I have been feeding a frozen food I purchased from Discus Madness.
    Frozen blood worms
    Frozen brine shrimp
    Tubifex worms they don't seem too care for much.
    And some tropical flake food.

Tank mates. We're added two months prior to the Discus IMG_0031.jpgIMG_0029.jpgIMG_0030.jpg
    4 Singapore flower shrimp.
    6 zebra nerita snails
    2 otocinclus algae eater
    3 Cory cats
    12 neon cardinals
    6 kill fish

Tank temp. Started out at 83 degrees and bumped it up to 86 degrees.
    Ph high range 7.4
    I should add that before adding the Discus one week ago this was at a ph level of 8.0.
    Ph 7.6
    Ammonia 0
    Nitrite 0
    Nitrate 5.0

I have been doing a 1/3 tank or approximately 20 gallon water change every other day since the addition of the Discus.
    I am using domestic tap water.