AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: What to buy?

Real Name
    Steve

Default What to buy?

I'm thinking about joining the photo club here on SD I'm a total novice, but would put in the time to learn. I'm wondering what to look for to buy. Can I walk into Costco and pick something decent from their selection? They've got a Canon EOS 80D and a Nikon D7200 DSLR, both with 2 lenses, 18-55 mm and 55-250 or 300 mm for about $1350. Is that too much camera? Or can I grow into it? Probably obviously I really don't know what I'm looking for. I'd like to be able to nice outdoor photos. Any advice or suggestions appreciated. Really just starting to research.
    Lifting dictionaries literally strengthens your muscles.

Default Re: What to buy?

Steve,
    I can't help on the Nikon or Canon as I am only familar with Pentax, but I would suggest looking at
    https://www.adorama.com/
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/

box stores can be iffy with camera gear.

Lens that come with Cameras as a kit are often intro level lens added as fillers to make the deal look good. They are good beginner lens but they often are just "ok" Sometimes its better to buy the body separate and buy the lens separate..
    I'm sure the others will chime in with more helpful info,

al
    AquaticSuppliers.com Freeze Dried BlackWorms and other foods your Discus will Love!!!

>>>>>I am a science guy.. show me the science minus the BS

Al Sabetta
    Simplydiscus LLC Owner
    Aquaticsuppliers.com

I take Pics.. click here for my Flickr images

Real Name
    Steve