AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: New to me 90 Gallon with Sump

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Lucas Smith

Default New to me 90 Gallon with Sump

So I am purchasing a new to me 90 Gallon tank, stand, heater, lights, and sump setup. It is currently being used as a salt setup.
    Is vinegar and water still the best practice to clean it up and disinfect?
    The wet/dry is currently using bio balls, I have no experience with sumps, but I have heard bio-balls are not that effective. Any guidance on media for the sump would be appreciated.

I plan on running it bare bottom, maybe a fine layer of sand if the bottom is to beat up. It will be home to 6-8 adults and a bristlenose pleco.

I'll also be running a sponge in the tank for aeration and additional biological filtration.

I expect to be doing 60% WC every other day (if pH and TDS remain stable).

Real Name
    Ricardo

Default Re: New to me 90 Gallon with Sump

Quote Originally Posted by LJSmith View Post
    So I am purchasing a new to me 90 Gallon tank, stand, heater, lights, and sump setup. It is currently being used as a salt setup.
    Is vinegar and water still the best practice to clean it up and disinfect?
    The wet/dry is currently using bio balls, I have no experience with sumps, but I have heard bio-balls are not that effective. Any guidance on media for the sump would be appreciated.

I plan on running it bare bottom, maybe a fine layer of sand if the bottom is to beat up. It will be home to 6-8 adults and a bristlenose pleco.

I'll also be running a sponge in the tank for aeration and additional biological filtration.

I expect to be doing 60% WC every other day (if pH and TDS remain stable).
    water & bleach will be more than enough to disinfect. As far as media, you can use sponges or the classics like ceramic rings and media of this type.

Click here to view my 75g Acrylic Tank w/ Bean Animal Overflow with 40g Sump Thread