AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: Pics of my tank and a question

Registered Member scrappinjaime's Avatar

Default Pics of my tank and a question

Here is my quarantine tank with three new beauties from Kenny. The others are my established tank and baby's from Kenny.

My question, why is my qt tank so nice and bright and the other seems yellow. My hubby said it's because of the background and because I put flourish in it and because it's established. I have two bright lights on it.

Sorry they are upside down.

IMG_2777.jpg
    IMG_2778.jpgIMG_2778.jpgIMG_2779.jpgIMG_2776.jpg

Default Re: Pics of my tank and a question

Nice additions Jaime! Your tank is beautiful. I am no expert but I have some ideas- The first thing though is I have learned here that discus are more comfortable in dimmer lighting so your main display tank is perfect as it is. Also the new guys in QT may feel more secure in lights out the first few days.

I am just guessing it is a number of things- the distance of the light from the top to bottom (bigger tank=bigger distance=dimmer light. Also the kind of light you are using on the two tanks are they the same? One last guess is that the background is absorbing some light?

There has been a lot of threads on lighting lately. Check out Kyla's thread:
    http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showth...recomendations

Maybe with one of these options you can get the color effects you are seeing in the QT but with less bright white light on them. Just a thought...

Anyway they look beautiful and healthy (of course coming from Kenny!). Can't wait to see them in the main tank. It is so hard to wait isn't it?
    Last edited by Jenene; 02-24-2017 at 10:42 AM.
    "You can't trust water: Even a straight stick turns crooked in it." -W.C.Fields

Real Name
    Eric

Hi Jane. It could be the color temperature of the bulbs. Copy / pasted this from Google.