ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: 1 Dead, 1 Dark, 1 dead anyday, 2 healthy

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Holly Runyan

Default 1 Dead, 1 Dark, 1 dead anyday, 2 healthy

So I THINK this may have been caused by me trying to clean too much gravel at once and releasing some Nitrate pockets. The next day all of my tetras were dead and then about a week later my Red Cover had some bumps on his head, then the next day it was twice as bad, then the next day really bad and he died. I was told maybe HITH?

The past 6 months I have noticed that my blue diamond was really black - he turns white and then black again but doesn't look like a blue diamond. I am new to the discus world and realize that I was not feeding or doing enough water changes this past year. I have since changed that but he remains black.

I have put everyone in a QT tank on 2/10/17 - since then I have a ruby leopard that has gone down hill. First she would only eat bloodworms and then nothing. She hasn't eaten in about 3 or 4 days. She is about dead I think and lays at the bottom of the tank. Super thin!

I noticed my blue diamond was only eating blood worms but I think I caught it soon enough and he has started to eat brine shrimp and beef heart again.

The checkered pigeon - who is newer to the tank. Maybe a month now. He is great! and my male ruby leopard is great!

I started dosing the QT tank with Metroplex as directed and nothing was happening. After talking with some discus owners I have been dosing twice the amount every 8 hours and doing a 90% water change every 16 hours. I have added aquarium salt twice as directed.

Is there any suggestions on what is going on or what I should do? This is day 4 of the double dosing of metro and nothing has changed and I started dosing on 2/10/17 and was dosing once a day with 75% water changes every other day.

I have since changed my planted tank to BB for when they are well so that this doesn't happen again.

Problem