NADA     Australian Blackworms

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Planted Tank But No Co2 Now - How to get started?

  1. #1
    Registered Member DISCUS STU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Fort Lee, NJ
    Posts
    1,702
    iTrader
    1 (100%)

    Default Planted Tank But No Co2 Now - How to get started?

    Hi All,

    I'd like to add Co2 to my planted tank 55 gal. and would like some advice on where to buy a good system, dosing, plant recommendations, etc.

    My current setup is,

    a. 55 gal. with natural river sand
    b. Radican Swords
    c. 6 full grown discus
    d. 82 temp.
    e. Lighting is single flourescent (3100 k.)

    Running Eheims with one air stone.

    Any advice would be appreciated. My Radicans grow well but could do better and recent additions of Valisnaria which had done well in the past only died out, possibly because the Swords were consuming their Co2, nutrients, etc?

    Thanks,

    Stu

  2. #2
    Silver Member Ryan925's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    SF bay area
    Posts
    2,620
    iTrader
    2 (100%)

    Default Re: Planted Tank But No Co2 Now - How to get started?

    Quote Originally Posted by DISCUS STU View Post
    Hi All,

    I'd like to add Co2 to my planted tank 55 gal. and would like some advice on where to buy a good system, dosing, plant recommendations, etc.

    My current setup is,

    a. 55 gal. with natural river sand
    b. Radican Swords
    c. 6 full grown discus
    d. 82 temp.
    e. Lighting is single flourescent (3100 k.)

    Running Eheims with one air stone.

    Any advice would be appreciated. My Radicans grow well but could do better and recent additions of Valisnaria which had done well in the past only died out, possibly because the Swords were consuming their Co2, nutrients, etc?

    Thanks,

    Stu
    I ordered my solenoid regulator from Dr fosters and Smith. Works great.

    I really like the products from green leaf. I have their pps pro fertilizers and also their reactor and drop checker and bubble counter.

    Co2 really is pretty simple. Don't know why some make it seem so complicated.

    I just have mine on a timer comes on an hour before lights and off an hour before lights off.
    Im not illiterate...only my phone's auto correct is

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    335
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Planted Tank But No Co2 Now - How to get started?

    Why not ask the experts on the planted forum, if not recommend speaking to the guys at http://greenleafaquariums.com

    There is also the new style regulators http://aquatek-california.com/
    Last edited by Davidzil; 04-20-2017 at 10:08 PM.

  4. #4
    Registered Member bluelagoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Halifax,Canada
    Posts
    940
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Mervin

    Default Re: Planted Tank But No Co2 Now - How to get started?

    You will need more lighting if you use CO2.If that is Americain or jungle valisnaria,it doesn't like the extra CO2 and might molt,from experience.

  5. #5
    Moderator Team and MVP Apr. 2016 rickztahone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Pacoima, California
    Posts
    13,779
    Blog Entries
    1
    iTrader
    11 (100%)
    Real Name
    Ricardo

    Default Re: Planted Tank But No Co2 Now - How to get started?

    go with a 2 stage regulator if you want reliability. I bought Concoa because it is well regarded and it never let me down. You can buy post body parts from a lot of places for way cheaper than you would with fully built kits. It isn't that difficult to put everything together either.

    Click here to view my 75g Acrylic Tank w/ Bean Animal Overflow with 40g Sump Thread

    Also, click here for my 25 group of discus grow out thread




    Want to look like Al did at his ACA talk with his white Simply Polo shirt?(You can catch Al's awesome Discus talk HERE)
    You can get this and many more items such as T-shirts/Polos/hoodies/cups from our merchandise shop:
    Cafepress.com

  6. #6
    Registered Member Neptune's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    924
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Planted Tank But No Co2 Now - How to get started?

    Quote Originally Posted by rickztahone View Post
    go with a 2 stage regulator if you want reliability. I bought Concoa because it is well regarded and it never let me down. You can buy post body parts from a lot of places for way cheaper than you would with fully built kits. It isn't that difficult to put everything together either.
    That is what I have, if you are patient you kind find them on Ebay or Craigslist for a good price.
    Last edited by Neptune; 04-23-2017 at 06:38 PM.

  7. #7
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    44
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Planted Tank But No Co2 Now - How to get started?

    if you only have radican swords im not sure co2 is actually necessary, good root tabs will suffice, I would suggest you get your lighting into the 6500 k range

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Cafepress             AquaticSuppliers.com