ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: Finnex Planted+ 24/7 Question

Registered Member

Default Finnex Planted+ 24/7 Question

I'm new to keeping discus and have a question about my Finnex Planted+ 24/7. The light's 24/7 mode, to my surprise, gives off more light throughout the night than I expected would be the case. (There are only a few hours where the light is a very dim blue.) I really like the 24/7 mode, but am wondering whether this level of light at night will stress the fish.

Does anyone with experience using this light (or something similar) with Discus have any insight to offer?

Registered Member

Default Re: Finnex Planted+ 24/7 Question

I own one, used it on 24/7 mode for like two days I also did not like the amount of light at night because it never went completely dark. I ended up setting a custom color in the memory and using a regular timer, I feel that the light is good but the 24/7 thing is just a gimmick.

Real Name
    Ryan

Yes the 24/7 aspect is just a gimmick. If used constantly it will produce a ton of algae.
    Have you gotten your hands wet today?

Registered Member

Thanks for the replies--much appreciated. My tank is only moderately planted, and the plants are in pots with root tabs. Because I'm not at home most of the morning and afternoon, I'd like to have the light on into the evening. On my other tank (no discus), I simply run the light for four hours before noon, and then turn it off for much of the afternoon, and then another 6-7 hours in the evening/night. It has worked great for the fish and plants and that tank. Would a similar regime work for discus? (I get that it all depends on XYZ--I'm just trying to make sure that having the break in the middle of the day would be alright.)

Also: there is not any way to set the Planted+ to switch automatically between two modes, is there? (Relatively bright in day, then moonlight at night)

Quote Originally Posted by DiscusMark View Post