AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Force Pairing - How? Expert Strategy/Thoughts

Registered Member

Default Force Pairing - How? Expert Strategy/Thoughts

Been trying to breed my discus, but haven't seen any breeding behaviors in any of my discus.

How is force pairing done?

How long do we put a "possible" pair together? a week before swapping?

Any strategy?

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Kyla

Default Re: Force Pairing - How? Expert Strategy/Thoughts

im no expert, but my guys showed more breeding behaviour when i added cones to the tank. like they got all excited about vertical surfaces and interested in laying eggs on them. do u have cones in the tank?

Registered Member

Quote Originally Posted by Kyla View Post
    im no expert, but my guys showed more breeding behaviour when i added cones to the tank. like they got all excited about vertical surfaces and interested in laying eggs on them. do u have cones in the tank?
    I do have a cone and some smooth vertical drift wood. I get nothing. I probably have the worst luck ever and have a group of discus (9) that are of one sex.

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Kyla

lol that would indeed be bad luck!! but it may just be that they arent old enough yet? how old do u think they are?

Registered Member

lol that would indeed be bad luck!! but it may just be that they arent old enough yet? how old do u think they are?
    Not sure how old, but they are around 4.5 to 5.5 inches each

Real Name
    Willie

Forced pairing is when you break up pairs and put a more desirable combination together. So you may pick a proven male and put him together with a better female. It doesn't work if the fish have not spawned. Forced pairing works most of the time, IME.

In your case, just start to move fish around to form new pairings. If they don't spawn in 2 - 3 weeks, try a different combination.

Willie
    At my age, everything is irritating.

Registered Member