ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pinched Features, Wasting Away, What is This Disease Condition?

Default Pinched Features, Wasting Away, What is This Disease Condition?

Hi Everyone,

Even though I've been keeping Discus for 30+ years I don't have a handle on what the above mentioned disease may be and I've lost a number of fish to it over the years.

I last treated a wild for this with metro in a separate hospital tank as I seem to remember that it could be Capillaria though usually I just let this run its course with death being premature death always being the ultimate outcome. Sadly there was no effect this time and I had to euthanize the fish.

Typically the fish gets skinnier and skinnier, loses color, the sinus and forehead assumed a pinched look the fish wastes away to almost nothing over the course of some months and it may affect one fish out of many housed with it.

This disease condition doesn't seem to have much to do with water conditions, food, etc.

Thanks,

Stu

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Kyla

Default Re: Pinched Features, Wasting Away, What is This Disease Condition?

i've had a couple go this way. i put them down too. always assumed it was some kind of internal parasite or protozoan that didnt respond to treatment. the internet is great for all its terrible info... now i secretly suspect all my discus of carrying cryptobia, but im prob just paranoid

Real Name
    Jacklyn

kyla I understand what you mean here, my fish have had every disease, parasite or bacteria that exists throughout their lifetime. Sometimes googling is bad.
    ~JACKLYN~

Capillaria is easily recognized by the barrel type eggs in the feces, you will need a microscope for it though. I have eradicated capillaria in the past with Flubendasol, comercial product Kusuri Wormer Plus. In my case capillaria was accompanied with a badly infestation of flagelates but those were probably opurtunistic.