AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello from the sunny phillipines..

Registered Member

Default Hello from the sunny phillipines..

Well I have about ten years experience with Malawi...but eventually having kept just about every strain I got bored and watched the tank implode by not restocking until there was just one left ...it was brutal and I honestly couldn't wait until this last tough feller died of natural causes...probably sympathetic boredom..

So with a blank canvas I toyed with the idea of an all frontosa tank but the stocks here were not great ...

So then I did what every good ex Malawi fish keeper does ...explore South America!

So it was out with the all rocks and in with the driftwood...finally my well worn 150 gallon tank was going to become a true 150 gallon...

The one thing playing on my mind is that the South Americans don't like calcium laden water which is what comes out of my deep well...but in a way I was glad of this as dealing with thick calcium deposits over everything was becoming a nightmare...

So I decided I would run with a thirty perecent RO mix ...im not sure if it's ideal but it was something I could just about keep on top of since I have to pour the bottles in from the local water supplier.

Next I bought a ton of tweety wood from a lfs so that I could experiment...

So now I came up with a plan ....basically the whole floor of the tank is a small less than an inch thick of fine white pool filter sand ...I have bar jets blowing from either side to keep food and poop moving ... i have two canisters just doing their thing and dumping directly into the tank causing maxiumum aeriation...I have a power jet for surface agetation ...and another power jet for clarification through a wool filter that can easily be changed daily if need be plus an eheim uv doing its thing.