AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Nitrites

Registered Member

Default Nitrites

I have been doing a fishless cycle with my new 90 gal. tank. For the last 2 weeks the Ammonia has been 0, Nitrites 0 and Nitrates 80, 18 hours after adding 1 - 2 tsps. of Ammonia. After a 80 gal WC last week the Ammonia stays at 0, but the Nitrites stay at around 2+ and the Nitrates are slowly going up and are at 80 tonight. Before the WC the Ammonia was 0, Nitrites 5 and Nitrates 80+. Immediately after the WC change the Ammonia was 0, Nitrites 0 and the Nitrates 5. Each evening I added 1 tsp of Ammonia to keep the cycle going. Did the large WC hurt by BB causing the Nitrites now to continue to raise ?
    I have fish coming in two weeks and I'm getting a little nervous ..............
    Thanks,
    Zippy

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Smudge

Default Re: Nitrites

I'm not an expert but that sounds right to me. You have beneficial bacteria converting ammonia to Nitrite and then you have another type of bacteria converting Nitrite to Nitrate. Sounds like you're nearly there, just keep at it. Some say that high Nitrates will stall the cycle so you had to do the WC.

Yeah Zippy, don't worry about the wc effecting your bb. The beneficial bacterial is not in the water column only in your media and on surface in the tank. I would say don't let the Nitrates get so high. Try smaller ammonia doses and keep an eye on those skyrocketing Nitrates. When they start to rise do a small wc. By your previous results your tank is cycled. I think you are just a bit heavy on the ammonia and light on the water changes. You can dose tiny amounts. The bacteria will adjust when the fish get in there. You will be doing good water changes during that time so you will be fine. Not long now and you will have something to watch in there instead of plain water.
    "You can't trust water: Even a straight stick turns crooked in it." -W.C.Fields

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Kyla