ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Am i ready to take the plunge?

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Mary Beth

Default Am i ready to take the plunge?

Hello... I am new to the discus hobby and have been doing a lot research. I was hoping I could get some input from the more experienced here on whether my tank is ready for discus.

I have a 55 gallon tank (I don't have room to go larger) running and cycled. I have a Eheim professional 4 canister filter, fluval aqua clear filter, 2 eheim heaters & eheim air pump with 2 bubblers.

My water parameter are as follows: PH - 7.2 ; Ammonia, Nitrite & Nitrate - 0 ; KH - 3 ; GH - 4

My tank is bare bottom with 2 pieces of congo wood, some rocks and plants planted in glass jars with pool filter sand. I have 5 lemon tetras, 10 neon tetras (I know these could become a snack) and 2 cory cats.

I'm hoping to get 5 - 4" discus from DiscusHans in a couple of months.

All opinions & suggestions welcomed! Thank you!

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Mary Beth

Default Re: Am i ready to take the plunge?

I would really appreciate some responses.

Real Name
    Joe Zammit

Sounds like you are good to go Mary Beth.

Good luck with your new venture.
    We're here for a good time...not a long time

Sounds good to me too
    Im not illiterate...only my phone's auto correct is

You say your nitrates are at zero, you should have some nitrates if your tank is cycled. How did you cycle it and how long?

Registered Member
    Real Name
    DatDiscusDude

Seems like you are off to a good start.

What temp are you keeping things at? What are your plans for water changes once they come in? If you can push it go the extra inch and get 5".

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Mary Beth

Thank you for the responses.
    My water temp is about 84-86.
    I plan on doing water changes maybe 3-4x a week.