ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: New 120 Gallon Discus Tank Water Quality Questions

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Mara

Default New 120 Gallon Discus Tank Water Quality Questions

Hello all! I am new to discus keeping and have been reading everything I possibly can before buying my fish. I was hoping I could learn some things by posting my plan and seeing what the experts can tell me to do/not do. I am extremely concerned with making sure my water quality is good. Nothing is set in stone yet and I am open to all advice from the experienced - thank you!

-Already set up:
    - 120 Gallon 5 feet long, Temp 84*, Bubbler, Sand substrate, fake plants, drift wood, red moor root, 1 almond leaf, 6 Corys. 2 heaters, 2 HOB Aquaclear 110 filters. Already cycled.

-Plan:
    -Add 15-20 cardinal tetra, wait 3 weeks, add 8 discus from Discus Hans
    -Daily water changes of 25-30%

-Should I go with 3 inch or 4 inch discus for my first time? I understand the smaller ones will require more frequent water changes/feedings.
    -Is my planned water change schedule sufficient?
    -My tap water runs 0 Ammonia, 0 Nitrite, 0 Nitrate, pH of 7.8 – aging does not change pH – is it ok to fill with Python straight from tap at adjusted temp? Should I be concerned with micro bubbles?
    -Do I need a UV Sterilizer?

Any other pieces of advice plz throw it in!

Real Name
    Phil

Default Re: New 120 Gallon Discus Tank Water Quality Questions

Welcome!! You are like the tenth person this week I've had the pleasure to congratulate for coming here before they get discus. I wish I was so fortunate !!!

So far your plan sounds decent. How deep is your sand bed? How were the current filters cycled ?

What are your water params currently in the tank? You have tested the tap water and aged I 24 hrs w an air stone and re tested it? If that's the case and you have no swings you can match the temp and do direct from tap water changes.