AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: Help with ro

Registered Member

Default Help with ro

I'm using ro in my 55 gallon tank, has anyone used Remineraliz-P? Does it buffer the kh ? Or do I need to add a kh buffer? If you have used it what dosage was you using? Sorry about the silly questions I'm new to discus and ro , cheers in advance

Real Name
    Sean

Default Re: Help with ro

I don't have any experience with that product in particular but in the past I always just used a mix of RO and my tap water at a 80/20 mix of RO to tap and had great results.

Registered Member

So forget any added minerals? Only problem I have is my tap water nitrates are quite high so it feels like a wasted water change , I thought by using pure ro and minerals I could keep my nitrates under control , it just seems no matter how much I put in I can't raise the kh past 3 but gh and ph will keep climbing , really annoying me Iv been at this for a week now, all I want is steady water changes with steady parameters I'm scared my ph will swing with a kh of 3 , I'm new to keeping discus and I'm not gonna lie the last month has been nothing but hassle , I love these dang things tho, any suggestions will be more than welcome , thank you

Silver Member
    Real Name
    Dan

How much nitrate is in the tap water? I know its hard to measure it with any precision but it might be manageable with a mix of ro. Then you could have stability and minerals without the hassle of adding stuff.

Real Name
    Sean