ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What would you do?

Registered Member

Default What would you do?

Hey all, so I am relatively new to discus and continue to learn (big surprise, huh?) about the importance of different aspects of water. I am attempting to grow out five discus from Hans, but am having trouble growing them. I bought them roughly 3 months ago, and all were 2 1/2". Now they are roughly 3", but haven't grown nearly as much as I had hoped during that time. I feed them a recipe of turkey burger I made based off of several recipes found on simply discus, so I am confident food is not my issue. I feed them roughly 4 to 5 times daily, and ensure I feed them enough that all have chubby bellies without leftover food.

My ph out of the tap remains stable when I aerate the water overnight, and my water parameters in my tank are as follows:
    7.6ph
    3 Kh
    0 gh
    55 tds
    I can't remember the nitrite and nitrate levels exactly but I know they are low and within a healthy range.

I do 50% water changes nightly, and have a separate tank to allow the water to aerate overnight. Would anyone suggest I add say, Epsom salt or calcium chloride to ideally increase gh, kh, and tds slightly? Any opinions are greatly appreciated!

Default Re: What would you do?

My water parameters are very similar to yours. I believe that having 0 gH has had no ill effect on my grow-outs. I believe that the fish get the minerals they need for growth from their food.

1/2' growth in a month isn't terrible but you should be seeing a bit more. What size tank are they in? How often do you feed? What foods do you use?
    Mama Bear

Registered Member