AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Purigen reactors

Default Purigen reactors

I know there are many old threads on this but thought I would start a new one to see who is currently using a purigen reactor and what they are using. I know many use purigen, in bags, in their sumps, canisters and hob's but thought it would be nice to have some info, and show how simple it is, for anyone considering or even never thought of a reactor.

I just set up my first and it was very simple and working like a charm. Granted I have lots of experience in plumbing, electrical, pumps, etc but this is really something anyone can do.

My original plan was to use a submersible pump in my sump to supply reactor then have the output dump into the bubble trap before the return pump. Since my sump is not in use until I can build my stand I figured why not set one up with my canister.

I teed into the return of my eheim pro 4+ 650 and used this valve to throttle flow.

ISTA 2pcs SINGLE Tap connector 16mm Control Valve Quick TAP- HOSEING FILTER Flow https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00SIS3NAU..._7KBt9h61X2mHl

I then plumbed it to this reactor.

AquaMaxx Fr-se GFO Carbon and Biopellet Hang-on Filter Media Reactor https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0184GF5PQ..._fCixoRFCwzPRx

I filled reactor with 500 ml of purigen. I started canister with valve closed then very slowly opened it to achieve desired flow.

I found this needs to be a slow process. As the purigen rises the smallest beads bounce up off the top of the mass. After a bit of time this rogue beads settle then flow can be increased more. I currently have a micron sock over the outlet until I get it dialed.

This whole thing took me prob 20 mins to setup and tune.

https://youtu.be/Wuovyvqf-Vo

Video must be set to 1080p to clearly see the tumble

Look forward to seeing the rest of yours
    Im not illiterate...only my phone's auto correct is

Default Re: Purigen reactors