AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Hi everyone. From South Africa

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Dane Albrecht

Default Hi everyone. From South Africa

Hello SD

Joined about 2 weeks back and been browsing lightly through a lot of the threads and thought its time to introduce myself.
    My name is Dane, I'm currently a student at varsity. I live in Johannesburg in South Africa and have been keeping fish since i was six years old.

Currently have a 100 litre high tech planted and a small 16 litre shrimp tank. Recently sold my 300 litre and 250 litre to raise funds so I can do a discus aquarium!! Ever since i first discovered discus ive wanted to keep them and have done research on them on and off for close to 3 years now. Still feel very unsure about a lot but hopefully with SD i should be all good!!

Will start a thread for my discus journey once i can start building the setup.

Real Name
    Jacklyn

Default Re: Hi everyone. From South Africa

Hi Dane, welcome to SD. Sounds like you have been bitten by "DAD" this is what I refer to as the "Discus Addiction Disease" Trust me, we're all members of your disease support group, we are all addicted too.

Anyway I am looking forward to your journey, keep in mind that this is the place where you can ask your questions and get lots of different answers so don't always take one person's advice/methods as facts. The biggest advice I can give you now is to start simple, start bare bottom, and start with adults discus.
    ~JACKLYN~

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Dane Albrecht

Quote Originally Posted by jmf3460 View Post
    Hi Dane, welcome to SD. Sounds like you have been bitten by "DAD" this is what I refer to as the "Discus Addiction Disease" Trust me, we're all members of your disease support group, we are all addicted too.