AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Discus and nothing but

Registered Member

Default Discus and nothing but

I have been a hobbyist for 25 years . I have not kept everything freshwater but was addicted to Africans for years (I admit brutal)hehe. I have had reef tanks and fowlers but I have found the only fish that makes sense to me and makes my heart pound really fast. It is the discus.....nothing makes keeping fish more challenging and interesting but this fish. In my opinion.....just sharing . Thanks

Default Re: Discus and nothing but

Good luck. Sounds like you've been bitten by the bug. Embrace the addiction lol
    Im not illiterate...only my phone's auto correct is

Discus are not hard at all as long as you meet their needs. Make sure that you don't have a pH swing of .4 or more and make a WC system that is fast and you and the fish will both be happy..
    Mama Bear

Registered Member

Very true and thank you for your words.

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Kyla

I agree. I've kept many fish and my hobby has evolved, with my tastes changing over the years. the discus never seem to get old, something about their personalities, their behaviour... I never grow tired of them. I think I've finally found my fav fish. I no longer crave more tanks and new fish species etc, because discus are so deeply satisfying to care for.

Registered Member

Yes for sure. We can all keep multiple tanks but the discus makes me stop and pause. "I need more 20 gallon tanks" Keeping fish is about this fish to me. At least to me .Cheers

Discus are an addition for sure. I have other tanks including tropical and reef but discus are my first love. I hope to always have them. You can see my tank from many areas of my home and I still catch myself caught in a trance while trying to get things done around the house.