AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: second opinion

Registered Member
    Real Name
    steffen holtorf

Default second opinion

I'm just kind of new to keeping discus specifically I'm 19 and I've been keeping community tanks since I was 9 after my father died and my mother was unwilling to take care of his tank full time. I've found that raising discus is much more challenging and more time consuming than any fish that I've kept before. I've had the specific fish below for about 6 months. I bought them from a local breeder in Des Moines at about 1 in. a piece. The larger of the two is now around 3 in. (Inamed it Rex) and the smaller at maybe 1 1/2 and I'm pretty sure it's stunted and I'm not quite sure what may be stunting it in the tank.The breeder I bought them from mentioned that he moved the baby's into another tank with some fish that he had recently bought from a pet store (they looked somewhat like African cichlids) and that they had been nipping at the fins of the baby's. I'm not sure if the 2 I haves' health problems (if it were wouldn't be shocked) is of my doing or due to something that may have happened at the breeders. I would love feedback regarding what I should be doing that I'm not:
    -weekly water changes around 60%
    -mix of frozen brine shrimp, beef heart, and blood worms fed every 1-2 days
    -community tank includes
    -3 spotted silver dollars ( will likely get moved to another tank)
    -2 angelfish
    -2 plecos (ones a small white albino)
    -2 discus
    All kept in a 55 gallon tank

Any feedback you can give would be greatly appreciated and implemented into my routine. I just bought 2 new discus so there's some urgency to this but im not too worried about their health for at least a couple weeks.
    discus 1.jpgdiscus2.jpgdiscus parents.jpgparents of the 2

Real Name
    Steve

Default Re: second opinion