AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: New Discus not eating and swimming

Registered Member

Default New Discus not eating and swimming

Hi everyone! I am new to keeping discus but I have had all sorts of freshwater tanks in the past. I have a 75-gallon aquarium and bought two disucs about 3 inches. I have had them for the past month and I never really had a problem. I fed them a mix of brine shrimp, blood worms, and black worms. They never ate Mysis shrimp though.

Couple of days back, I bougt 4 discus, ranging in size from 2'' to 5''. They are hiding and do not eat. To add to my plight, the older discus which I already had are now hiding and not eating as well. Is this normal.

I have a bare bottom tank and zero decorations. Temperature set at 85F and all other parameters in check.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreaciated.

Thanks,
    Meshach

Real Name
    Filip

Default Re: New Discus not eating and swimming

Hi Meshach and welcome to the forum .
    I'm sorry to tell you this , but this is completely normal when you mix 2 different groups of discus especialy without any quarantine procedure beforehand .
    It is called cross - contamination meaning different discus groups infect each other with different types of pathogens .

Do big daily water changes with aged water to strip as much pathogens from the water as you can for now and just observe them closely . They might get better on them selfs in a couple of days or you might need to medicate and help them overcome this .It all depends of how the things will progress. Watch for symptoms on their skin and their feces for now .

Good luck Mescach .

Registered Member

Quote Originally Posted by Filip View Post
    Hi Meshach and welcome to the forum .
    I'm sorry to tell you this , but this is completely normal when you mix 2 different groups of discus especialy without any quarantine procedure beforehand .