AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: 120 Planted Discus Community Tank

Registered Member

Default 120 Planted Discus Community Tank

I've been poking around this site for a few years trying to pick up tips from you guys. Read through many of these tank builds so I thought I'd post my progress on a build I'm just starting so someone in the future may learn from my mistakes.

I have kept discus in the past and attempted to grow out 20 small 2" to adulthood in a community tank. The results were mediocre with half the batch reaching 5+ inches with the rest being a variety of smaller sizes. After reading all the information I could on this site and watching some YouTube videos I realize growing discus in that environment is not ideal.

My plan is to put six adult discus in the 120 along with six elephant noses (a favorite of mine) along with some tetras, algae eaters and cory's. I have no plans to attempt any breeding, just enjoy the fish in a more natural environment with plants.

My equipment is the following:
    SCA 120 aquarium with Herbie overflow
    40 gallon breeder custom sump
    APEX Controller
    2 - 300 watt heaters
    2 - BeamWorks planted LED lights
    Mag Drive 1200 return pump

CO2 system with the following equipment:
    50lb CO2 tank
    Digital C02 solenoid and bubble counter
    Aquariumplants.com C02 Reactor