ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Decided to go Discus

Real Name
    Greg

Talking Decided to go Discus

Hey Everyone, So glad for this forum! Just full of great information on everything you need to know and more! I recently made a trip to Uncle Sam's discus in Los Angeles (where I live). Solid group of guy's over there, I walked in and was greeted by Darwin one of the owners of the company. He walked around with me and gave me solid tips and tricks on how to keep things simple and clean with Discus. At the time I was in the middle of converting my 55 gallon into a Discus tank. Currently I had two pairs of Angels that I breed. I have been keeping Angelfish community tanks for over 10 years along with other cichlid tanks. Any how I was at Uncle Sam's ready to buy Discus. I told Darwin about my set up and how it was a rocky substrate but I assured it was low on nitrates due to my every other day W/C schedule. He promptly told me if I wanted to assure the health of these fish to go bare bottom. He said you just can't beat the cleanliness. His advice to me was to remove the substrate do a good water change age the tank for 5 days then go for it. So i followed his advice and am now a fellow Discus owner! I left my driftwood and an artificial plant and cave for the cory's and golden rams. Here are the pics of the day I put them in the tank. They seem to love the tank and swim all throughout the driftwood. Sorry for the cell phone pics I'll update with some better photo's soon. The Angel's are out of the tank now and I plan to get 2 or 3 more discus on the next batch from Uncle Sam's. Please let me know what you guys think. I decided to go big because I wanted to assure they are past that critical growth state where they are more sensitive to disease and water parameters. I feel like eventually I'll do a thin layer or white sand that I can keep clean. Especially that they are large I think they will handle it just fine with regular w