AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Not sure whats going on?

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Chris

Default Not sure whats going on?

Hi Guys,

I am new to this and just starting my first aquarium. (I used to keep fish when i was around 14 years old but i have lost all my knowledge since then). I am hoping someone can shed some light on whats going on with my cycle.

I bought a second hand tank around three weeks ago now and the previous owner switched off and drained the tank the night before i was due to collect. I then set up and switch the tank back on with water in three days after collection.

The tank was then running for seven days (fishless) but i was adding in bacterial growth booster throughout this time. I will mention at this point that i didn't clean the filter prior to re starting. I thought it might have been a good idea to keep the media as is to help the cycle. On the seventh day i also done a 40L water change as the water was very tainted due to the drift would which i have in there (purchased from a fish shop).

On day nine i bought seven rosy tetras and added these into the tank. (i was advised that this will help with the cycle).

On day ten and with the fish only being in the tank one day i done a water test and i got the following results,
    pH - 5.0
    Ammonia - 1.0 mg/L
    Nitrite - 0 ppm
    Nitrate 0 ppm.

I have now ran the tank for seven days (16 days in total) with the rosy tetras being in and i done another test with the following results, (I will add that all the fish are doing great and eating very well)
    pH - 5.0
    Ammonia - 0.5-1.0 mg/L
    Nitrite - 0 ppm
    Nitrate 0 ppm.

The tank is 155L and the current temperature is 26c.

Correct me if i am wrong but after having the fish in the tank for seven days i thought i would expect to see a rise in nitrates and a decrease in ammonia?