AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: I知 new here would any one be willing to help my discus looks big

Registered Member

Default I知 new here would any one be willing to help my discus looks big

Hi so I have been keeping discus for about 1-2 years I still have so much to learn one of my discus looks to big on its sides usually discus are flat but looks to big I have took a photo I hope this makes sense does anyone know what this is and would be able to help thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images

Real Name
    Steve

Default Re: I知 new here would any one be willing to help my discus looks big

Hi Regz and welcome to SD.
    Looks like he's getting bloated. Have you seen him poop lately? Hopefully others will chime in, too. If you continue to have problems, I encourage you to fill out the Disease Questionnaire (red link top of page) so folks have more info to go on.

Registered Member

- temp is 31

- ph 7-7.5

- ammonia reading 0

- nitrite reading 0

- nitrate reading 30-50 which is very bad for discus I have not done a nitrate test in a week or 2 I’m just going off what the readings was last was on

- I mainly use RO water I never really use tap water I do water changes about 30-40% once or twice a week just depends on if I can get a lift to the fish shop usually I can but sometimes I can’t

Tank size 529 litres

7 discus all of them are fairly big I would not say they are fully grown yet in between 4 of them I had since I started keeping discus the 3 others I had for about at least 6 months
    7 plecos
    8 loaches
    6 tetras of some kind
    2 corydoras
    2 I don’t know what there names are but they look like stick fish they don’t do much just hang around xd

Now that I think about all those fish I have I think the tank maybe over stocked

They have a 2000 litre per hour filter + a hood filter I do not know how much the hood filter does per hour

I feed them twice a day also I’m pretty sure I have not seen that discus poo in a while