AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: It almost happened to me!

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Mickie

Default It almost happened to me!

Hello all, first post in Simply Discus here!

So I'm new to keeping Discus, but not new to keeping fish in a planted tank. My discus have all been doing well and are thriving.

I did a water change prior to leaving for work (I'm doing 50% twice a week right now as the tank is still new, but cycled). I come home after my 12 hour shift at the hospital to find almost all my fish gasping at the surface 4 discus, 3 Philippine Blue Angels, Cories popping up for air more than usual. Discus looked really darked, respiratory rate elevated.

Water Parameters - ammonia 0, nitrite 0, nitrates less than 5. ph 7.4

I then realize that it's been raining here in Southern Ca for the last few days, so something's gotta be in the water. 50% water change immediately. I usually condition with API stress coat plus, but I remember reading that Prime also detoxifies heavy metals.....I have a bottle and dose with that instead. Within 5 minutes after dosing with the Prime, the fish start to settle down and respiratory rates lower. Their color has returned and they're swimming about the tank.

Holy crap that was scary, any recommendations moving forward? I have my water level a little low so that the output for the canister is a little higher than the water level creating greater surface agitation.

Real Name
    Willie

Default Re: It almost happened to me!

Everything so often, your water quality will change. In the Midwest, for example, the water company will double the dose of chloramine in the Fall because fallen foliage produces algal explosions in the sewage system. Your best bet in the long run is to condition your water. Aeration for 24 hours addresses many, many issues. If you don't have water storage capabilities, I would suggest