AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to baby discus

Real Name
    Sabrina

Default New to baby discus

Hello all,
    I am not new to discus but I am new to having baby discus. I have feeding schedule questions, I am not sure if I am feeding them enough or if I am feeding them the correct foods either.
    I currently have 2 babies (picking up 3 more from the same batch in the next few days), they are housed in a 4 foot 224 liter (59 gallon) grow out tank, I have had them 2 weeks now. I am currently feeding them 3 times a day. The foods include, Hikari bio-gold beefheart pellets, Aqua One Discus bits and Australian black worms with Spinach freeze dried cubes. Are these foods good or if not can you please suggest better options for me. These babies attached to the parents on the 10th December 2017, so that makes them 3 months old now.. Any help or advice would be great thank you

Real Name
    Steve

Default Re: New to baby discus

Hi Sabrina,
    I think your foods and schedule sound good. Just be sure to clean up frequently. You didn't say how big the are, but if they're big enough to eat what you're feeding, then I think you're fine.

Real Name
    Sabrina

Hi Rogue,

Thank you for your response, I'm glad it seems to be the right foods and feedings per day. I would say the babies are around 2.5 inches from tip of tail to nose at the moment, its very hard to measure them though. Here is 2 pics of them taken just now.

28872541_10213991756241353_7064844370079383552_n.jpg

28950934_10213991756561361_4310507999505416192_n.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images

Real Name
    Steve

Yes, that sounds about right for the size. I encourage you to read up in the beginners and general section. I don't use gravel, but it has a reputation for building up waste and eventually causing water quality problems for young discus.

Real Name
    Sabrina