AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HOB filter

Real Name
    Sabrina

Default HOB filter

There is something wrong with one of my HOB filters, it does not seem to be working as well as it was. Its hardly breaking the surface of the water at all, where as it was doing so a week ago and even causing bubbles right out into the tank. I have inspected it while its running but cant see anything wrong with it, should i turn it off and take it out and pull everything out of it to see if there is a blockage or something? If its not breaking the surface of the water and its running much slower than normal, that must mean its not filtering the 600 liters an hour it should be, correct? It says in the instructions i should pull the motor apart after 1 month of running and lube it up for best results, but i am not technical with things and I'm afraid i will break it, do i really need to do that at this stage? Any help would be great, thanks

Registered Member
    Real Name
    george melendez

Default Re: HOB filter

Hi Sabrina, yes you can pull it out and pull off the intake and see if you can get the small wheel to start spinning, if not probably time to get a new one.

Real Name
    Sabrina

Hi George!

Thank you, where is the intake? Sorry but I'm new to HOB filters!

Do you have a prefilter?

Real Name
    Sabrina

Hi Adam, what is a prefilter?

Real Name
    Mervin

Are your sponges clean and not clogged?If they are the cartridge type,they don't last long/block easily.
    Last edited by bluelagoon; 03-14-2018 at 12:19 PM.

Real Name
    Sabrina

Hi Blue,
    Yes they are the cartridge type, i only replaced the sponge/carbon cartridge 12 days ago in this HOB filter, what should i do?

Real Name
    Sabrina