ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I am struggling to keep discus, any tips?

Registered Member

Unhappy I am struggling to keep discus, any tips?

1. Please explain the problems with your fish. When did you notice the problems and did anything unusual happen that you think started them?

It all began a few months ago when I got 7 discus. I am new to this hobby and made the mistake of not quarantining. A month ago, I lost a fish because it turned black, stopped eating and eventually died. Now a second discus is having the exact same symptoms and I fear it will also eventually die. I am now noticing a third discus who's color is slowly fading, who stopped eating and is hiding behind my driftwood all the time. I have a few discus ( about 2-3) who clamp their fins occasionally.

2. Symptoms (i.e. turning dark, excess slime, not eating, clamped fins, flashing, darting, clamped gills, white/yellow/green poop, hiding, headstanding or tailstanding, white on tips of fins, rotting or fungus, blisters/white zits on fish, bloated, cloudy eyes, wounds).

Symptoms include, turning black, excess slime, not eating, clamped fins (occasionally). One discus has finrot which I used furan 2 and it didnt help.

3. What medications/ treatments have you already tried and what were the results. Include dosage and duration of treatment.

I have already treated with General Cure and Furan 2. I have also tried Epsom salt but nothing seems to help at all.

Tank/Water

4. Tank size and ages, numbers and sizes of fish.

I used to have 7 discus, 3 swordtails and 1 pleco but I have changed my load. I have a 75 gallon tank with 9 discus, 8 neons, 2 plecos, 1 gourami and a german blue ram.

5. Water change regime (What percentage and how often).

I change 80-90% everyday on my tank.

6. How long has tank been running? Is it bare bottom? If you have substrate, what type and how deep is it?