AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Planted Discus tank planning

Registered Member

Default Planted Discus tank planning

Hi,

I have just started the planning process for a 65 gallon discus aquascape. I will be using an Ada 90 h, I have a lot of experience with planted aquariums and have been testing various plants in my current display tank running at discus temps. The thing I’m really getting different answers on is the number of discus. I want to also have a large school of cardinals as well say 30. I’ve heard everything from 2-3 up to 6 discus. If any of you guys could help that would be great I do t pretend to know alot about discus just what I’ve read during my planning.

Default Re: Planted Discus tank planning

Welcome to Simply Discus, Mitch

5 is generally regarded as the minimum number of discus to be kept together so as to avoid, or at least minimize, any serious pecking order issues. (A mated pair being the exception).

However, keeping 5 discus along with 30 cardinals in a 65 gallon, particularly if it's planted, even lightly, is likely pushing the bio-load limitations, and making it difficult to maintain high water quality & conditions, which are a must for being successful at discus-keeping.

It would be best too if you did quite a bit more homework before getting started with discus - suggest you start with all of the Stickies (and The Video) located in the Discus Basics for Beginners Section.

Suggest you also consider getting a larger tank, say a 75 gal. or larger, and if you wish to start with a planted set-up, you're strongly urged to start with nothing smaller than 4"-5" sized near adult discus, obtained from a quality source for supplying healthy, well-shaped fish. See SD's Sponsors section for such suppliers.

Best of luck to you.

You could start with some additional discus homework right here by reading this:

D-I-S-C-U-S - 6 CARDINAL RULES FOR NEWBIES TO FOLLOW