AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Eugene's Contest Thread - 65 gal grow out Journey

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Eugene

Default Eugene's Contest Thread - 65 gal grow out Journey

May 5, 2018 marked the first day of my first real experience with discus. 21 cute 1" discus fry that I picked up from a very reliable breeder. By the way, I am from Canada.

Right after I decided to accept this challenging grow out journey. I spend at least 2 months looking into all the posts and information from other discus experts posted on this forum as well other good resources. I have to say I have learned a lot and I am still learning each day.

I am running a bare bottom fish tank with painted bottom, side walls and the back. My plan is feeling them at least 6 times a days with FDBW, beef heart mix and other good protein food. 2 times of 90% water changes per day to keep them happy and stay healthy.

Here is a picture of my 21 little guys eating their first dinner right after they arrived their new home.

Pic1.jpg

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Eugene

Default Re: Eugene's Contest Thread - 65 gal grow out Journey

A quick update today.

The group of baby discus aren't baby anymore. Almost all of them are over 3 inches long and there are a few almost reach 3.5 inches. If you ask me what are the best moments with them, I have to say watching them growing bigger and healthier each day will definitely make my day.

What is the most important thing I learn from keeping the discus. I simply say, give them lots of fresh water (90% WC) to make them happy.

20180607_203827.jpg20180607_203729.jpg

Administrator and MVP Dec.2015 Second Hand Pat's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat

Looks like they are growing nicely. All that hard work is certainly paying off. What strains do you have?
    Pat
    Your discus are talking to you....are you listening

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Eugene