ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: Discus tank set up recommendations.

Registered Member

Default Discus tank set up recommendations.

Hello all,

This is my first post. I ran into this site while researching about Discus. Long story short, is my wife saw a Discus tank and fell in love. I'm new to Discus, but not to fish keeping. I have not kept fish since the 90s, but was pretty deep into the hobby with both fresh and salt water tank setups.

I'm not sure how much has changed since then, but Discus seem to require some extra "special" treatment. I was hoping for some suggestions or even a full equipment list of what you guys think would work well given the following parameters. I'm sure there are a lot of other considerations that I've forgotten or taken for granted. Please feel free to add. Thank you all in advance for your time and thoughts.

1. 75 Gallon Tank

2. HOB filtration (partial to Aqua Clear 110). How many 1 enough? How about sponge filters..needed as well?

3. Heating. One large or two small

4. Substrate type (This is a mandatory requirement per "the boss" lol)

5. Plants. NOT heavily planted at all, but expect to add some greenery.

6. QT tank. Recommended size?
    Last edited by faded14367; 07-17-2018 at 01:45 PM.

Default Re: Discus tank set up recommendations.

Quote Originally Posted by faded14367 View Post
    Hello all,

This is my first post. I ran into this site while researching about Discus. Long story short, is my wife saw a Discus tank and fell in love. I'm new to Discus, but not to fish keeping. I have not kept fish since the 90s, but was pretty deep into the hobby with both fresh and salt water tank setups.