AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Varied diet question/suggestions

Registered Member

Default Varied diet question/suggestions

Hi Everyone! I’m a relatively new discus keeper, I’m still learning and recently I just introduced ocean nutrition prime reef flakes to my discus. I’m trying to establish a varied diet for my group of red eagle discus. Here is my schedule:

6am - Tetra color bits
    12pm - Frozen blood worms
    4pm - Ocean Nutrition Prime Reef
    9pm - Tetra Color Bits

My question is should I just feed frozen bloodworms at night? Also I’m interested in feeding live black worms, but I only want to try a little is there anyway to get small portions like samples? And my last question is: Is it worth it to feed commercial frozen beef heart to my discus? I would try to make my own but in my area there aren’t any butchers that serve cow heart
    Many Thanks,
    Jay

Real Name
    Filip

Default Re: Varied diet question/suggestions

Jay , by your frequent feeding regime , I guess you are raising juvies discus .
    Beef heart is the cheapest protein power food for raising discus , that's probably why many of us use it regularly. Other than its price and efficiency , there is no any rule that says you must use it .

frozen bloodworms and especially live blackworms are notorious for harbouring pathogens . If you are not 100% sure about their source and quality, try to avoid them .
    FDBW are very good protein source and they keep the water clean but they are more pricy than rest of the foods you feed. I would recomend them if you are willing to spent extra money for your hobby and your discus.
    If your discus devour the tetra bits and reef flakes I would stick with just that and ditch the FBW at this point IIWY .
    Last edited by Filip; 08-03-2018 at 05:26 AM.

I wouldn't stress about variety. Probably not worth the expense in your case.

Registered Member

Quote Originally Posted by Filip View Post