AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: PH change during tank cycle

  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    82
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Lloyd

    Default PH change during tank cycle

    Hello, I am about 2 weeks into my first tank cycle
    it is a 65 Gallon with a canister filter - I also have a back up sponge filter in case of power interruptions.

    Ammonia has been going to 0 for several days

    Today first day of nitrites 0

    Nitrates a little high but thinking daily water change will resolve that.

    When I started my PH was 7.0 today is first time I checked since the start and it is 7.6

    is this normal? and should I take steps to address? I just checked my water change tank and its 7.2 (prime treated)

    probably worrying for nothing but I have to have something to worry about to be happy

  2. #2
    Administrator and MVP Dec.2015 Second Hand Pat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    28,442
    Blog Entries
    4
    iTrader
    9 (100%)
    Real Name
    Pat

    Default Re: PH change during tank cycle

    Try aging your tap water with aeration to see if your ph changes over a 24 hour period. I assume you are doing a fishless cycle without doing water changes? Do you have substrate in the tank and if yes, is it limestone based?
    Pat
    Your discus are talking to you....are you listening

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    82
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Lloyd

    Default Re: PH change during tank cycle

    I do use aeration in the water change tank I have been doing water changes 25% starting 2 days ago. it is a fishless cycle. The substrate is from CaribSea - it makes no mention of Limestone but says it resists the lowering of PH which right now is not a problem

  4. #4
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    82
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Lloyd

    Default Re: PH change during tank cycle

    I will do as you suggest check the PH from the tap and again 24 hours after aging with aeration and prime

  5. #5
    Administrator and MVP Dec.2015 Second Hand Pat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    28,442
    Blog Entries
    4
    iTrader
    9 (100%)
    Real Name
    Pat

    Default Re: PH change during tank cycle

    Quote Originally Posted by pm9ljr View Post
    I do use aeration in the water change tank I have been doing water changes 25% starting 2 days ago. it is a fishless cycle. The substrate is from CaribSea - it makes no mention of Limestone but says it resists the lowering of PH which right now is not a problem
    You might also do a little research and see if there is any mention of your substrate selection increasing ph.
    Pat
    Your discus are talking to you....are you listening

  6. #6
    Registered Member bluelagoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Halifax,Canada
    Posts
    1,169
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Mervin

    Default Re: PH change during tank cycle

    Also,you should add the prime just prior to a WC and not let the prime set in the aging container.The chloramine in the water will keep things clean until you need the water,if that is what your water supplier uses.Chlorine on the other hand will air off when aged and does not need a conditioner.I've heard when using prime that you should wait approximately 24 hours before testing ammonia to get a better reading with API test kits.Prime is also good if you don't want to cycle a fishless tank.Usually a small increase in ph is ok for fish and much better than a quick drop.

  7. #7
    Registered Member bluelagoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Halifax,Canada
    Posts
    1,169
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Mervin

    Default Re: PH change during tank cycle

    If your substrate says that it resists ph lowering,then that is what's keeping the ph up.

  8. #8
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    82
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Lloyd

    Default Re: PH change during tank cycle

    thanks for the tip on not adding the prime to the aging container (I was doing that) and Pat I may have lied ( I do that quite regularly) I just did the water change and refilled my aging tank and its 7.6.
    So my 7.0 reading at the start may have been in error … so it seem like 7.6 is where I am at this point

  9. #9
    Administrator and MVP Dec.2015 Second Hand Pat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    28,442
    Blog Entries
    4
    iTrader
    9 (100%)
    Real Name
    Pat

    Default Re: PH change during tank cycle

    Quote Originally Posted by pm9ljr View Post
    thanks for the tip on not adding the prime to the aging container (I was doing that) and Pat I may have lied ( I do that quite regularly) I just did the water change and refilled my aging tank and its 7.6.
    So my 7.0 reading at the start may have been in error … so it seem like 7.6 is where I am at this point
    That makes sense Lloyd . Generally ph drops with fish (or adding ammonia) in a tank over time. Your substrate could be maintaining the ph at it's current level. I am not sure if that is a good thing or not. We generally recommend substrate which is inert (chemically inactive).
    Pat
    Your discus are talking to you....are you listening

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

pic of month             AquaticSuppliers.com