AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Who's using HMA/Whole House Filters and Why?

Real Name
    Bill

Default Who's using HMA/Whole House Filters and Why?

Hey everyone,

Relative discus newbie here trying to figure out what sorts of system tweaks are most worthwhile in raising and caring for my fish. In the past there's been some discussion about the topic of HMAs or Whole House sediment/carbon filters, but seems like it's been a few years: http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?76921

One reason I ask is because my last experience with discus led some experienced folks to suspect I had a water issue that might have explained problems I had. (For one thing, there was something in the local paper about the lake/reservoir turning over at that particular time of year, leading to more carbon use at the treatment facility along with possible odor/sediment noticeable to the public.) So while I don't have chloramines and I'm not autochanging water, I've wondered about pre-filtering it to remove sediment/metals, and perhaps some other irritant(s) I'm not aware of.

I've also observed that when I do water changes now, my discus don't seem quite as relieved or happy about it as I might expect them to relative to other fish, though I'm still trying to get a read on what's normal. I'm not sure I'd say they're stressed, but kind of in-between, I would say... despite aging, aerating, and temp matching. They recover within anywhere from 15 minutes to half an hour, it seems, and they may just be showing some predictable stress and shyness from my messing with the tank, but I've continued to wonder how much they like my water. (It's low TDS, about 40-50.)

So, I've thought about putting something like this between my tap and the aging barrel: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...sc_sfl_title_1

FWIW, I have an RO unit but don't really want to deal with waste water and remineralization, especially if it isn't necessary.