ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: New home, new water. Is it still ok?

Registered Member

Default New home, new water. Is it still ok?

Hey guys,

After posting the same on a german forum and getting no response I decided to post it here.
    Sry for my english ill try my best.

So my name is Dominic im 24 & from Germany.
    Im a student and its my first Discus tank.

At first I didnt plan to keep Discus at all,
    But some friends of my family asked me if I can take care of their sons Fish, since he lost interest in them..
    After like 2 weeks
    So I added 5 very small Discus to my new and besides of some cardinal tetras and corys empty tank.
    They are doing great and even the smallest one (didnt eat, had white poop, constanly hiding) is eating again and doesnt hide anymore.
    When i got them they were really small and did almost show no color, but now they grew a lot and get a nice blue pattern
    Ill try to add some pics.

Atm they live in 300liter (i think around 80 Us gallon)
    With a ph of 6,8 (in the tank and soft water)

This will change soon..
    Ill have to move and my water conditions will unfortunatly change.

The new conditions are the following

Calcium mg/l 56
    Magnesiummg/l 18,7
    Natrium mg/l 23
    Kalium mg/l 5,2
    Hydrogen-
    carbonat mg/l 210
    Sulfat mg/l 43
    Chlorid mg/l 36
    Nitrat mg/l 10
    pH-Wert 7,76
    Gesamthärte °dH 12,32 = 2,29 mmol/l total hardness? °dh = german hardness
    Härtebereich 2 mittel --- hardness level 2 middle

I hope you understand this and especially the units.
    1)
    Are these waterparameters still okay?
    I donr wanma breed them and hope i can keep them because they really have grown to my heart.

And since im a student i cant afford a osmosis plant and similar stuff like this! Hope thats the right word

i dont wanna mess with peat, because ppl here say a constant ph value is better than low but changing values.
    + I dont like the looks of black water.