AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: I beg you for urgent help

Exclamation I beg you for urgent help

So I'm new to discus. I bought 2 half year old fish 3 weeks ago. 2 days after I brought my new fish home my tank suffered bacterial bloom. The bloom was not severe, but the fish fell ill. They started defecating transparent, gooey feces and stopped eating.

I took them into a smaller tank and bathed them in metronidazole for 3 days.
    Then I put my fish back into the bigger tank (it's a 30 gallon tank for 2 "teenage" fish).
    There is no bloom this time thanks to my newly bought UV lamp, but I'm having issues with ammonia spike. I'm doing 50% water changes daily but it's not helping much.
    My fish still don't want to eat and make gooey poo.
    And as if that wasn't enough, one of my fish has white spots on it's tail...

Please help! What do I do to save my discus?

Default Re: I beg you for urgent help

The tank is bare bottom.
    Water in the tank is filtered through a reverse osmosis filter.

Parameters:
    pH - 6.4
    GH - 0
    NO2 - 0.2 ppm
    Temperature was 28 degrees celsius but I upped it to 32 celsius.

Hi there and Welcome to SimplyDiscus!

First thing we need is for you to fill out our disease forum form ..
    http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showth...lease-complete
    so we have all facts.

A few notes though while doing that... you will need more metro than 3 days worth. You should plan on 10 days worth at 250 -500 mgs per 10 gal.Thats going to be your first line of offense here..
    We will try and help you more after we get a feel for your tank and fish thru the questionaire. Thanks, Al
    AquaticSuppliers.com Freeze Dried BlackWorms and other foods your Discus will Love!!!

>>>>>I am a science guy.. show me the science minus the BS

Al Sabetta
    Simplydiscus LLC Owner
    Aquaticsuppliers.com

I take Pics.. click here for my Flickr images

Pics always help greatly as well.
    Mama Bear