ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Long time hobbyist, but new to Discus

Default Long time hobbyist, but new to Discus

Hi,

I'm a long time hobbyist and have had numerous saltwater and freshwater tanks over the last 30 years or so, but I moved to a new home and decided to finally get a decent sized tank, now that I have room for one.

I got a 200 gallon (72" x 24" x 30") tank with bracing and decided to try Discus.

I got the tank up and running about three months ago by using a ton of (12 lbs) media from my previous tank/filter; it cycled very quickly and I added all my fish and verts from the previous tank. That comprised 7 German Rams (2 males 5 females), 10 Buenos Aires Tetras, two bushy-nosed Plecos, one Catfish of indeterminate type, 8 Viper Shrimp, around 20 Malaysian Bamboo shrimp (all the shrimp are huge, 3" plus and around 3 years old), one lonely Ember Tetra (the survivor of a 36 hour power outage a couple of years back - all the rest of his clan died, so he's a tough SOB), one Serpae Tetra who survived said previous power outage.

I used the majority of my plants from the previous tank as well. That tank was up and running for around 6 years total and had ongoing perfect water parameters, probably due to being very mature, completely cycled and well over filtered! My water parameters never varied from 7.4 ph, 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites and around 5-10 ppm nitrates (heavily planted). I ran Bio-home ultimate in that tanks and two Aquaclear 110s for a 55 gallon tank. The nitrates would occasionally be at 0 when the plants went into growth cycles.

The new tank is a sand bottom, planted tank with some of my HUGE plants with root ferts for the planted, and dosed for the Anubias on my ancient driftwood. The tank is lit by 3 X Prime HD Freshwater lights and filtered by 2 X Fluval FX6 filters stuffed with around 6 lbs each of the Bio-home ultimate, I run 2 x 300W heaters for redundancy and 2 X 1250 gph powerheads for flow and to oxygenate the water.