Dennis Discus     NADA

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 24 of 24

Thread: Seeding a new tank

  1. #16
    Registered Member mr limpet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Long Island,New York
    Posts
    99
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Seeding a new tank

    I change 50% water in tank every 3 days. I use straight tap water. Never had any issues. Can I add fish right away?

  2. #17
    Registered Member slicksta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    693
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Seeding a new tank

    Like I said, it's not necessary to move water, but sometimes every little bit helps and if you can do it easily I would.
    Yes you can move the pair immediately and I would move the fish and filter at the same time

  3. #18
    Registered Member mr limpet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Long Island,New York
    Posts
    99
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Seeding a new tank

    Got it Slick. Thanks everyone for the advice.

  4. #19
    Registered Member slicksta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    693
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Seeding a new tank

    As with any new set up... watch it over the next month.
    Check parameters and that heaters and filter are working as they should.
    Aquarium equipment isn't hi_end and sometime decide to malfunction when disturbed :-D
    Good luck with the move and the breeding pair!

  5. #20
    Registered Member mr limpet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Long Island,New York
    Posts
    99
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Seeding a new tank


  6. #21
    Registered Member slicksta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    693
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Seeding a new tank

    I take back everything I said. . .
    The best way to start a new tank is to fill it with fresh water and age it for say.... 5 years. Meanwhile do a fish_less cycle and test and retest your water on a weekly basis.
    In the meantime, move the pair to my house and I'll get them ready to make the transition :-D

  7. #22
    Moderator Team LizStreithorst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Moselle, MS
    Posts
    6,438
    iTrader
    12 (100%)

    Default Re: Seeding a new tank

    Good luck nabbing that pair, slick.

    I seed a tank the way nobody does it but me. I do a flopping on the bottom WC every day until the filter seeds itself. The fish tell me if I need to do more WC or less. I've had 5 huge adult Discus in a 30 gallon and they did just fine with one 90% WC daily until the fish let me know that I could get away with less. It didn't take all that long.
    Mama Bear

  8. #23
    Silver Member Willie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    2,490
    iTrader
    2 (100%)
    Real Name
    Willie

    Default Re: Seeding a new tank

    Just to be clear on the process.

    1. Move your sponge or filter from a seeded tank to the new tank
    2. Fill with tap water
    3. Add dechlor

    Done.
    Whenever you feel stupid, remember that there are people out there looking for Pokemon.

  9. #24
    Registered Member mr limpet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Long Island,New York
    Posts
    99
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Seeding a new tank

    I set up the new tank for the pair. I have 2 AC 110s on it now filtering. It’s going to be a little difficult catching the Red Discus. He looks just like the others in the tank. That’s why I’m waiting for them to breed again. Hopefully he’ll be guarding the eggs and I can get him then. Then I’ll move the seeded filter too. Think I’ll just move the Large AC110 sponge and filter floss in the seeded AC110 and just put that in the running AC110 filter on the newly set up tank.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Cafepress             AquaticSuppliers.com