AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: ??hole in the head...flukes?!! im about to put a hole in my head !@#$# help

Real Name
    eduardo

Default ??hole in the head...flukes?!! im about to put a hole in my head !@#$# help

hey, discus keepers.. need your help

DISEASE QUESTIONNAIRE
    Problem

1. Please explain the problems with your fish. When did you notice the problems and did anything unusual happen that you think started them?
    [B]Over the past 3 months, ive lost 2 of my discus and a increasing pH (not sure why)

ive been doing the same routine for 2 1/2 years, but the only thing I did different was that I added harki to the fish diet (which is potential source of my problem)
    and added a new wet dry filter.

2. Symptoms

at first they presented with ick (which I treated with increase temp and resolved)

One of my discus presented with white, fleshy gills _ I stared doing salt dips and treating the tank with salt for about a week and did not help..
    I then treated with paraguard aka (malachite green) with 1 hour dips and treating entire tank ...she then stopped eating...... she died

the second discus presented with same symptoms so I treated with metroplex ( in the food and the entire tank, for about 4 days)...she died

NOW my last discus is presenting with small holes or digs around her face. There's nothing in the tank to have her scratch herself with.
    She still eats like a pig and has a great appetite. but does have stress bars and those holes in her face.

Tank/Water

4. Tank size and ages, numbers and sizes of fish.
    55 bow . with now only 5.0 in discus that's 4 years old.

5. Water change regime (What percentage and how often).
    80% every 4 days or when my nitrates go above 20.

6. How long has tank been running? Is it bare bottom? If you have substrate, what type and how deep is it?
    3 years, bare bottom.

7. Do you age your water? If you do for how long and what is the ph swing.