AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: new to discus, I need help with adjusting(or not) my tap water

Registered Member

Default new to discus, I need help with adjusting(or not) my tap water

Hi guys, Im new to discus , but not new with aquarium hobby. I recently purchased two 3 inch discus and one week later another four very small 1in discus . I have 56 gallon, BB column tank. Besides the discus there are 2 Bolivian rams, and one albino pleco in it. Im doing 40% WC daily, and everything looks fine. Im using tap water, and since I believe my tap water is not adequate Im adjusting the parameters. And when you do daily water changes its starting to be more difficult. So I want to ask you if you think I can get away without adjusting the water. And this is my concern. My tap water is very soft, GH and KH are about 1dGH and 1dKH, too low. And the PH is 8.4, not bad but little bit high. The TDS are 60ppm. Since the KH is very low the water is unstable. The PH can crash from 8.4 to 6 over nigh. So far I would add this ingredient when I do the WC. I would add Seachem Equilibrium, to rise the GH to about 4dGH, then I would add Seachem Alkaline buffer to rise the KH to about 4dKH. But now the alkaline buffer will rise the PH too, so to drop the PH I would add Seachem Acid Buffer. And in the tank the water will settle down to PH 6.8, and its stable. Also when I check the TDS its 240ppm now. So can you tell me if Im doing it right? And am I overdosing the buffers? Is 240ppm to high for discus? And can I just use alkaline buffer and acid buffer(or none), and stop using the equilibrium, since that's very hard to dissolve, and always makes the water cloudy. Or can I use epsom salt instead of Seachem Equilibrium? If I dont use the equilibrium, just the acid and alkaline buffer, the TDS will be about 180ppm(im not 100% sure about this). Thank you

Real Name
    Brian

Default Re: new to discus, I need help with adjusting(or not) my tap water