AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: 90g tank with 35g sump?

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Todd

Question 90g tank with 35g sump?

I have been keeping fish on and off for 30 years now and one of the things I have never tried is keeping discus. I recently got a new 90 gallon tank and I have a 35 gallon tank I am going to use as a sump for the system. My question is, what is the general consensus on this set up? I have the tank plumbed down to a DIY wet/dry filter containing sponge on first level carbon next followed by my bio filter. This then drains into the sump where it goes through more sponge and bio materials.there is a fair sized refugium part to it and then it goes to the return section where it is returned to the tank. All in all I figure I will be running between 110 and 120 gallons through the system. I have a 500 gallon per hour pump I plan on using to run it all. I am not planning on using a substrate on the display tank but am going to use some in the refugium part. The only thing I want in the tank are some branches and maybe a few pieces of wood. The water in my city tends to be pretty hard but mostly keeps a stable ph of around 7. Does anyone have any advice or comments about the set up I plan on using or any other helpful ideas or hints are very welcome. Cheers and I am looking forward to trying discus pending the advice I get on here. I am also wondering how many you suggest for this size setup
    Last edited by Szabbath; 03-03-2019 at 06:53 PM. Reason: Added more

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Todd

Default Re: 90g tank with 35g sump?

Does no one have any advice?!?

Real Name
    Bill G.